Located in scenic Lanark County, Eastern Ontario, Canada

drawing by Linda Grenier

 

Find us on Googlemaps here.

 

Contact MERA:

613-278-0388

meraschoolhouse@bell.net

 

Storm

 

Storm Internet provides free internet service to MERA. In exchange, Storm asks MERA members and their friends to sign up for Storm Internet service, providing the promotional code MERA2M when filling out the applcation form or speaking to Storm staff. Storm will use this code to track MERA referrals and to ensure that new customers get two free months of service.

Welcome!

MERA - McDonald's Corners/Elphin Recreation and Arts is a not-for-profit community arts organization operating out of a renovated 1860s Schoolhouse in Lanark Highlands, Ontario.  Our mandate is to provide arts and recreation activities for people of all ages in our community. We are the only organization wholly dedicated to community arts in Lanark County and we are partly funded by the Ontario Arts Council. Information here changes frequently so be sure to check back again. Enjoy!

 

Upcoming Events

...click any underlined title for more information...

November 2014
 
Private rental -Training Main Hall Wed. Nov. 26
8:00am to 1:00pm
 
Ecstatic Dance once a month on Thursdays Thu. Nov. 27
7:30pm to 9:30pm
 
MERA Christmas Fair Sat. Nov. 29
10:00am to 4:00pm
 
Sultans of String Click here for lots more Sun. Nov. 30
2:00pm
 
Nov 2 - 30 Exhibition of landscape and heritage drawings by Michael Neelin, November 1-30, 2014 Sun. Nov. 30

December 2014
 
Book Club - The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind by William Kamkwamba Wed. Dec. 3
7:00pm to 9:00pm
 
Stained Glass Lamp Workshop Sat. Dec. 6
9:00am to 4:00pm
 
Blue Jeans Classical Music: Music for Double Reeds and Piano Sun. Dec. 14
2:00pm
 
MERA Board of Directors meeting Thu. Dec. 18
7:30pm to 9:30pm
 
Ecstatic Dance Fri. Dec. 26
7:30pm to 9:30pm
 
Private rental Sat. Dec. 27
12:00pm to 8:00pm

January 2015
 
Private rental Fri. Jan. 2
 
The Silence of Bonaventure Arrow by Rita Leganski Wed. Jan. 7
7:00pm to 9:00pm
 
MERA Board of Directors meeting Thu. Jan. 15
7:30pm to 9:30pm
 
'Round the World on a Dinner Plate Fri. Jan. 23
6:00pm to 8:00pm
 
Ecstatic Dance Thu. Jan. 29
7:30pm to 9:30pm

February 2015
 
Book Club - Dear Life by Alice Munroe Wed. Feb. 4
7:00pm to 9:00pm
 
'Round the World on a Dinner Plate Fri. Feb. 6
6:00pm to 8:00pm
 
MERA Board of Directors meeting Thu. Feb. 19
7:30pm to 9:30pm
 
Egyptian Dinner -'Round the World on a Dinner Plate Fri. Feb. 20
6:00pm to 8:00pm
 
Ecstatic Dance Thu. Feb. 26
7:30pm to 9:30pm

March 2015
 
Book Club - Driftless by David Rhodes Wed. Mar. 4
7:00pm to 9:00pm
 
'Round the World on a Dinner Plate Fri. Mar. 6
6:00pm to 8:00pm
 
MERA Board of Directors meeting Thu. Mar. 19
7:30pm to 9:30pm
 
Ethiopian Dinner - 'Round the World on a Dinner Plate Fri. Mar. 20
6:00pm to 8:00pm
 
Ecstatic Dance Thu. Mar. 26
7:30pm to 9:30pm

April 2015
 
Gold Finch by Donna Tartt Wed. Apr. 1
7:00pm to 9:00pm
 
MERA Board of Directors Meeting Thu. Apr. 16
7:30pm to 9:30pm
 
Ecstatic Dance Thu. Apr. 23
7:30pm to 9:30pm

May 2015
 
Rental - Motor Sport Car Rally Fri. May. 1
11:30am to 11:00pm
 
Rental - Motor Sport Car Rally Sat. May. 2
6:00am to 6:00pm
 
Book Club - The Painted Girls by Kathy Marie Buchannan Wed. May. 6
7:00pm to 9:00pm
 
MERA Board of Directors Meeting Thu. May. 21
7:30pm to 9:30pm
 
Board of Directors Meeting Thu. May. 21
7:30pm to 9:30pm
 
artist's studio
 
MERA
 
Perth

 

Every week at MERA

McDonald's Corners Farmers' Market: Saturday mornings 9 am - 1 pm, May 18th to October 12th - Enjoy a latte on the lawn, a sticky bun or a wood-fired pizza, and take home the best from our local food providers and crafters: fresh veggies and baking, farm-raised meat; soap, woodwork, hammocks and more...For more information on the Market please contact Lynne Parks at mcdonaldscornersfarmersmarket@hotmail.com or (613) 278-2739.

The Steady Way is an independently operated cafe at the Farmers' Market all summer. 

 

Fibre Arts Thursdays: Come for tea in the morning (10 am) and bring your knitting, crochet or needlework. Or join us for informal workshops each Thursday afternoon, a different craft each week from many fibre arts traditions. Or do both, and bring a lunch for in between! See Fibre Arts for more details. The morning group meets year-round; the workshops happen from October through May.

 

Pottery Studio: The Pottery Studio is open for potters and people who would like to be potters to enjoy and learn in a co-operative milieu. Details here. To learn more about the Empty Bowls project to which MERA potters have contributed work click here and to find out about the Empty Bowls display at Foodsmith's in Perth click here

 

Quilters: meet every Wednesday afternoon, 1-3 pm. 

 

Visual Arts - Arts Circle: meet the first and third Fridays of most months 9:00 am - 12 noon. Details here.

Be sure to check out visual arts exhibits in the large room at the Schoolhouse. The shows change monthly and feature individual artists and groups from the MERA area. Please check the calendar above to find dates for openings of the shows.

 

Fitness: several different styles of fitness training and sharing are available at various times of the week and year - try one or all of them! Details here.

 

Book Club: meets at 7 pm at the Schoolhouse on the first Wednesday of every month from September to June. Anyone who has read each month's book is welcome to join for a lively discussion. If you would like to join the Book Club, please contact Jean Dunning at jdunning@uottawa.ca  The calendar entries above show the book that will be discussed at each meeting. 

Share