Located in scenic Lanark County, Eastern Ontario, Canada

drawing by Linda Grenier

 

Find us on Googlemaps here.

 

Contact MERA:

613-278-0388

meraschoolhouse@bell.net

      

Storm Internet  provides free internet service to MERA. In exchange, Storm asks MERA members and their friends to sign up for Storm Internet service, providing the promotional code MERA2M when filling out the application form or speaking to Storm staff (613-267-3801) Storm will use this code to track MERA referrals and to ensure that new customers get two free months of service.

Welcome!

MERA - McDonald's Corners/Elphin Recreation and Arts is a not-for-profit community arts organization operating out of a renovated 1860s Schoolhouse in Lanark Highlands, Ontario.  Our mandate is to provide arts and recreation activities for people of all ages in our community. We are the only organization wholly dedicated to community arts in Lanark County. Information here below changes frequently so be sure to check back again and again. Join us by becoming a MERA Member for only $30 for the year and you will receive notificaitons of upcoming events and support MERA.

 

Upcoming Events

...click any underlined title for more information...

January 2017
 
Ukulele Beginner classes Tue. Jan. 17
12:45pm to 1:45pm
 
POSTPONED!! MERA Founders and Directors Supper Fri. Jan. 20
6:00pm to 8:00pm
 
Dance for the Joy of It! Mon. Jan. 23
7:00pm to 8:30pm
 
MERA Book Club Tue. Jan. 24
7:00pm to 9:00pm
 
Rhythm and Song: MERA Community Choir Wed. Jan. 25
10:30am to 12:00pm
 
Dance Collective Thu. Jan. 26
7:00pm to 9:00pm
 
CANCELLED THIS DAY Dance for the Joy of It! Mon. Jan. 30
7:00pm to 8:30pm

February 2017
 
Potter's Meeting. Wed. Feb. 1
7:00am to 9:00am
 
#1 Canadian Harvest Dinner Fri. Feb. 3
6:00pm to 8:00pm
 
"Out of the Woods" art opening Sun. Feb. 5
2:00pm to 4:00pm
 
Dance for the Joy of It! Mon. Feb. 6
7:00pm to 8:30pm
 
Dance Collective Thu. Feb. 9
7:00pm to 9:00pm
 
Beginner Stained Glass with Steve Boyd Sun. Feb. 12
7:49am
 
CANCELLED THIS DAY Dance for the Joy of It! Mon. Feb. 13
7:00pm to 8:30pm
 
How to Paint or Draw Water Tue. Feb. 14
9:30am to 11:30am
 
#2 Around the World on a Dinner Plate Canadian Themed Fri. Feb. 17
6:00pm to 8:00pm
 
Dance for the Joy of It! Mon. Feb. 20
7:00pm to 8:30pm
 
How to Paint or Draw Water Tue. Feb. 21
9:30am to 11:30am
 
Dance Collective Thu. Feb. 23
7:00pm to 9:00pm
 
Dance for the Joy of It! Mon. Feb. 27
7:00pm to 8:30pm
 
MERA Book Club Tue. Feb. 28
7:00pm to 9:00pm
 
How to Paint or Draw Water Tue. Feb. 28
9:30am to 11:30am

March 2017
 
#3 Around the World on a Dinner Plate Canadian-Themed Fri. Mar. 3
6:00pm to 8:00pm
 
Dance for the Joy of It! Mon. Mar. 6
7:00pm to 8:30pm
 
Dance Collective Thu. Mar. 9
7:00pm to 9:00pm
 
Dance for the Joy of It! Mon. Mar. 13
7:00pm to 8:30pm
 
#4 Around the World on a Dinner Plate Canadian Themed Fri. Mar. 17
6:00pm to 8:00pm
 
Dance for the Joy of It! Mon. Mar. 20
7:00pm to 8:30pm
 
Dance Collective Thu. Mar. 23
7:00pm to 9:00pm
 
MERA Annual General Meeting Sun. Mar. 26
2:00pm to 4:00pm
 
Dance for the Joy of It! Mon. Mar. 27
7:00pm to 8:30pm
 
MERA Book Club Tue. Mar. 28

April 2017
 
MERA Book Club Tue. Apr. 25
7:00pm to 9:00pm
 
MERA Choir Get Together Sat. Apr. 29
1:00pm to 6:00pm

May 2017
 
MERA Book Club Tue. May. 23
7:00pm to 9:00pm

June 2017
 
Book Club:  Planning for September meeting Tue. Jun. 27
7:00pm to 9:00pm
 
artist's studio
 
MERA
 
Perth

 

Every week at MERA

McDonald's Corners Farmers' Market: Saturday mornings 9 am - 1 pm, Victoria Day long weekend to Thanksgivng weekend.  For more information on the Market please contact Market Manager Lynne Parks at mcdonaldscornersfarmersmarket@hotmail.com or (613) 278-2739.

 

Fibre Arts Thursdays: Come at 10:00 am on Thursday mornings and bring your knitting, crochet or needlework. Or join us for informal workshops many Thursday afternoons, a different craft each week from many fibre arts traditions. Or do both, and bring a lunch for in between! See Fibre Arts for more details. The morning group meets year-round; the workshops happen from September through May. There is a planning session in September and January to discuss possible Thursday afternoon workshops.

 

Pottery Studio: The Pottery Studio is open for potters and people who would like to become potters to enjoy and learn in a co-operative milieu. See Pottery Studio for more details.

 

Quilters: meet every Wednesday afternoon, 1-3 pm. Everyone interested in quilting is welcome.

 

Visual Arts - Arts Circle: meet the first and third Fridays of most months September through to June from 9:00 am - 12 noon. Details here.

 

Monthly Art Exhibitions Be sure to check out visual arts exhibits in the large room at the Schoolhouse. The shows change monthly and feature individual artists and groups from the MERA area. Please check the calendar above to find dates for openings of the shows.

 

Book Club: meets at 7 pm at the Schoolhouse on the fourth Tuesday of every month from September to June. Anyone who has read each month's book is welcome to join for a lively discussion. If you would like to join the Book Club, please contact Jean Dunning at jdunning@uottawa.ca  The link on the calendar entries show the book that will be discussed at each meeting. 

Share